Short Story - Niedernsill

In the year 963

In the year 963 the dirstict Lengdorf (Lengindorf) is mentioned in documents and in the 12th century Niedernsiller estates appear in transfer documents as possessions of St. Peter to Salzburg. The name Niedernsill was first mentioned in 1140 as "Nidrinseli". In Old High German "Seli" means residence and Niedernsill is thus the lowest settlement in the county of Oberpinzgau. In dialect our village is called "Nidansöi".

On the "Birgkögei", at the entrance to the Mühlbach valley, the remains of a medieval castle complex (Burg-Eck) were found, as well as on the castle floor above Aisdorf the still preserved remains of the "Radensbach Castle". In our Tauern valleys (Mühlbach-Rattensbachtal) prehistoric finds were made, which point to mule tracks in Roman times.

In the year 1409

In the year 1409 the Niedernsiller church is mentioned in a document and in a letter of indulgence St. Luzia is mentioned as patrom saint of the church. The present church was rebuilt before 1872 and consecrated again in 1882, after being badly damaged by a flood in 1798 and by a fire in 1877. With the foundation of the horse breeding cooperative in 1898, Niedernsill offically became the centre of Noriker breeding in Oberpinzgau. 

In 1963, the town began celebrating its 1000th anniversary with a great celebration. 

The emblem

Description of the emblem of Niedernsill, awarded in 1963: Gold divided over black, represents a growing black horse trunk above, seven golden house bell turrets below. The horse points to Niedernsill as a centre of Pinzgau horse breeding, the bell towers are reminiscent of the villages, Kirchdorf, Jesdorf, Aisdorf, Lengdorf, Steindorf, Gaisbichl and Ematen that make up the municipality of Niedernsill.  

Short description of Niedernsill

The municipality has an area of 56.51 km² and lies in the Salzach valley at an altitude of 769 m between the grassy mountains in the north and the Hohe Tauern on the south. Niedernsill currently has around 2,400 inhabitants and is located in one of the most beautiful areas of Austria, making it a very centrally located holiday resort. 

Those seeking relaxation, mountaineers, hikers and those interested in culture feel at home in the densely wooded mountains of Oberpinzgau. 
 

This website uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalized service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies.

Kurzgeschichte - Niedernsill

Im Jahre 963

Im Jahre 963 wird der Ortsteil Lengdorf (Lengindorf) urkundlich erwähnt und im 12. Jhd. scheinen Niedernsiller Güter in Übergabeurkunden als Besitzungen von St. Peter zu Salzburg auf. Der Name Niedernsill wird um 1140 als "Nidrinseli" erstmals genannt. Im Althochdeutschen bedeutet "Seli" Wohnsitz und Niedernsill ist somit die niederste (unterste) Siedlung in der Graftschaft Oberpinzgau. In der Mundart heißt unser Dorf Nidansöi.

Auf dem Birgkögei, am Eingang zum Mühlbachtal, fand man Reste einer mittelalterlichen Burganlage (Burg-Eck), ebenso am Burgboden oberhalb von Aisdorf die noch erhaltenen Mauerreste der "Radensbach-Burg". In unseren Tauerntälern (Mühlbach- und Rattensbachtal) wurden prähistorische Funde gemacht, welche auf Säumerwege in der Römerzeit hinweisen.

Im Jahre 1409

Im Jahre 1409 wird die Niedernsiller Kirche urkundlich erwähnt und in einem Ablaßbrief die Hl. Luzia als Kirchenpatronin genannt. Die heutige Kirche wurde vor 1872 neu gebaut und 1882 wieder geweiht, nachdem sie bei einer Flut 1798 und bei einem Brand 1877 stark beschädigt wurde. Mit der Gründung der Pferdezuchtgenossenschaft 1898 wurde Niedernsill offiziell zum Zentrum der Norikerzucht im Oberpinzgau.

Im Jahre 1963 beging der Ort mit einem großartigen Fest die Feier des 1000-jährigen Bestehens.

Das Wappen

Beschreibung des Wappens von Niedernsill, verliehen im Jahre 1963: Gold über Schwarz geteilt, stellt oben einen wachsenden schwarzen Pferderumpf dar, unten sieben goldene Hausglockentürmchen. Das Pferd deutet auf Niedernsill als ein Zentrum der Pinzgauer Pferdezucht hin, die Glockentürmchen erinnern an die Ortschaften Kirchdorf, Jesdorf, Aisdorf, Lengdorf, Steindorf, Gaisbichl und Ematen, aus denen die Gemeinde Niedernsill besteht.

Kurze Beschreibung von Niedernsill

Die Gemeinde hat ein Flächenausmaß von 56,51 km² und liegt im Salzachtal auf einer Seehöhe von 769 m zwischen den Grasbergen im Norden und den Hohen Tauern im Süden. Niedernsill hat zur Zeit rund 2.400 Einwohner und liegt in einer der schönsten Gegenden Österreichs und ist somit ein sehr zentral gelegener Urlaubsort.

Erholungssuchende, Bergsteiger, Wanderer und Kulturinteressierte fühlen sich wohl in der waldreichen Bergwelt des Oberpinzgaus.
 

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies um Sie bei der Nutzung zu unterstützen. Durch die Nutzung dieser Webseite akzeptieren Sie die Verwendung von Cookies.