Kitzsteinhorn & Maiskogel

Freedom on the Kitzsteinhorn at 3,000 meters

Winter sports fans & excursion guests are treated to extraordinary nature and extraordinarily enjoyable sporting experiences on the Kitzsteinhorn in the Zell am See-Kaprun Region. On the edge of Hohe Tauern National Park, Salzburg's only glacier ski area is a unique location in the Eastern Alps. In addition to virtually endless opportunities for winter sports, the glacier - including TOP OF SALZBURG/Gipfelwelt 3000 - is home to a high-alpine excursion destination that is open year-round. The K-ONNECTION provides a direct link from the town center of Kaprun and the Maiskogel Family Ski Area to the Kitzsteinhorn, for ultimate Ski-in Ski-out convenience to and from the glacier and never-before-seen perspectives of the surrounding mountain world.

K-onnected: Kaprun - Maiskogel - Kitzsteinhorn

The K-ONNECTION lift link unites the town center of Kaprun and the popular Maiskogel Family Ski Area with the Kitzsteinhorn. For winter sports fans and excursion guests, this means significantly shorter distances, Ski-in Ski-out between Kaprun and the glacier, and the total convenience of the Kaprun Center with valley station, ticket windows, ski depot and a sport shop. Each section of this ultra-modern cableway reveals unique perspectives and fascination insights into the pristine, high-alpine winter landscapes. Traveling a total distance of twelve kilometers from the valley station up to TOP OF SALZBURG at 3,029 m, you will rise a total of 2,261 vertical meters and traverse four different climate zones. The heart of the K-ONNECTION is the 4.3 km-long 3K K-onnection. This, the most modern lift in the world, links the mountain station of the MK Maiskogelbahn (Eleven. 1,570 m) with the Langwied mid-station (1,976 m) on the Kitzsteinhorn.

Pure winter sports enjoyment

Skiing on the Kitzsteinhorn is a special experience: Both the high elevation as well as the proximity to Hohe Tauern National Park make a day of winter sports on the Kitzsteinhorn one-of-a-kind. The daily routine becomes a distant memory, while the heavens are close enough to touch: The snow-covered peaks and fascinating natural scenery cause you to pause from time to time in veneration. Anyone who has ever stood on the Kitzsteinhorn knows the sense of exhilaration that comes from gazing out on those mighty 3000-meter summits. Until early summer, guests of Salzburg's only glacier ski area are able to indulge themselves in the full spectrum of winter sports. The broad pistes, state-of-the-art lifts, inviting restaurants and absolute snow-certainty guarantee astonishing variety to fans of winter sports. 

On- and off-piste: The Kitzsteinhorn for free riders and ski tourers

Thanks to its snowy high elevations, the Kitzsteinhorn is famous for its deep-snow slopes. Freeriders appreciate the five marked routes, the "Freeride Info Base" and the "Info Points" at the entrance to each of the hills, providing important safety tips for everyone venturing out into open terrain. Workshops for beginners and experienced riders are offered in cooperation with two ski schools under the umbrella of "Freeride Monday". For ski tourers, the Kitzsteinhorn features two marked ascents from Langwied alongside the piste: the "Schneekönigin" variant climbs 474 vertical meters, the goal being the Alpincenter at 2,450 meters above sea level. The "Eisbrecher" route, with an 899-meter gain, leads to the mountain station of the Maurerlift at 2,875 meters. Guided ski tours are offered every Thursday: Together with the guide, you will make your way to the top of the pristine, 2,642 meters-high Tristkogel.

Legendary snow parks for beginners and "pros"

Several beautifully maintained snow parks make the Kitzsteinhorn and Maiskogel an unsurpassed hotspot for the freestyle community: some of the best worldwide, with the promise of boundless variety. The first to open its doors on the glacier is the aptly named "Glacier Park" in October. As of December, the "Easy Park" welcomes all snowboarders and free skiers eager to take on their first elements. In January, "Central Park" provides yet another winter playground to show off your stuff. The "Maisi Park" features a special fun area and elements that are easy to master - even for the youngest kids.

ICE CAMP - presented by Audi

The ICE CAMP on the Kitzsteinhorn offers the astonishing constellation of an art space, ICE Bar with sundeck, and automobile presentations at over 2,600 meters above sea level. Three interconnected igloos - each twelve meters in diameter - are designed by Carinthian artist Max Seiwald. Around 60 tons of ice and 2,500 cubic meters of snow go into this work of art. Construction of this unique world of snow and ice behind in December, while ICE CAMP opens in mid-January. Ingeniously combining a relaxed atmosphere, music and art, an immensely popular gathering spot for winter sports fans and excursioners.

TOP OF SALZBURG/Gipfelwelt 3000 - excursion destination on the edge of Hohe Tauern National Park

In the Kitzsteinhorn mountain station at 3,029 meters above sea level, the excursion destination TOP OF SALZBURG/Gipfelwelt 3000 promises magically beautiful views of Hohe Tauern National Park. Non-skiers are also able to enjoy unique attractions including two panoramic platforms, Cinema 3000 showing the film "Kitzsteinhorn - THE NATURE", the National Park Gallery with fascination info stations, and the highest restaurant in Salzburg. Winter hiking and cross-country skiing are also possible on the Kitzsteinhorn. 

An extraordinary nature experience: the Kitzsteinhorn Explorer Tour with a National Park Ranger

Thanks to the K-ONNECTION cableway all the way up to the Kitzsteinhorn, nature-loving visitors can also embark on an exciting tour from the valley up to the glacier. This wintry excursion is offered every Tuesday and Sunday, taking full advantage of the convenience of the lifts and accompanied by an experienced National Park Ranger, treating families to intriguing insights into the nature of the high mountains: Amongst other things, you will learn where eagles nest, the important function of barrier forests and how glacial ice is created. Participants benefit from an eagle's-eye perspective, gliding across four climate zones spanning 2,261 vertical meters. A ride on the 3K K-onnection is a breathtaking highlight, not least due to two specially designed "Explorer Cabins": Unique interior features enable you to enjoy unforgettable 360-degree views extending from Zeller See to the Grossglockner. Your ultimate goal is TOP OF SALZBURG/Gipfelwelt 3000 at 3,029 meters above sea level. 

Special challenges for winter athletes

One genuine challenge of the ski area is the "Black Mamba" piste with gradients as much as 63 %. If you like to collect data, Skiline allows you to tally your stats, while the Skimovie hill with giant slalom course on the glacier will allow you to indelibly immortalize your skiing prowess. There are two Skyline speed checks, one on the Kitzsteinhorn and a second on the Maiskogel. And this winter, yet again, you can participate in the Kitzsteinhorn K-ONNECTION CUP involving five Skyline.cc disciplines: Complete four of the five for a chance to win exclusive prizes.

MAISIFLITZER Maiskogel

All-year tobogganing fun at the Alpine Coaster

Spine-tingling excitement through and through – the first alpine coaster in the province of Salzburg is open as well in winter.

Guided safely on rails, you race in green two-seaters with up to 40 km/h downhill. Waves, jumps and spectacular spins let the adrenalin race through the veins and cries of joy can be heard from the Maiskogel. Adults and children find a popular excursion destination and exciting adventure when tobogganing here at the Alpine Coaster in summer as well as in winter. 

Facts:

  • Length uphill ride 730 m
  • Length downhill ride 1,300 m
  • Bridges, 5 jumps, 5 angular support spins and waves
  • Duration of the ride approx. 12 minutes
  • Children aged 3-7 ride accompanied by an adult

Tobogganing fun for the whole family - all through the year and whatever the weather!

This website uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalized service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies.

Kitzsteinhorn & Maiskogel

Freiheit auf 3.000 Meter am Kitzsteinhorn

Wintersportler & Ausflugsgäste kommen auf dem Kitzsteinhorn in der Region Zell am See-Kaprun in einen Natur- und Sportgenuss der Extraklasse. Salzburgs einziges Gletscherskigebiet am Rande des Nationalparks Hohe Tauern ist eine einzigartige Location in den Ostalpen. Neben schier grenzenlosen Wintersportmöglichkeiten bietet der Gletscher mit TOP OF SALZBURG/Gipelwelt 3000 ein ganzjährig geöffnetes hochalpines Ausflugsziel. Die K-ONNECTION verbindet das Ortszentrum von Kaprun und das Familienskigebiet Maiskogel direkt mit dem Kitzsteinhorn zu einer Einheit und bietet höchsten Komfort mit Ski-in Ski-out vom und zum Gletscher und noch nie dagewesene Perspektiven auf die umliegende Bergwelt. 

K-onnected: Kaprun - Maiskogel - Kitzsteinhorn

Die Seilbahnverbindung K-ONNECTION verbindet das Kapruner Ortszentrum über das beliebte Familienskigebiet Maiskogel mit dem Kitzsteinhorn. Für Wintersportler und Ausflugsgäste bringt die Verbindung deutlich kürzere Wege, Ski-in Ski-out direkt von Kaprun zum und vom Gletscher und höchsten Komfort im Kaprun Center samt Talstation, Kassen, Skidepot und Sportgeschäft. Die hochmoderne Seilbahnverbindung eröffnet in jedem einzelnen ihrer Abschnitte einzigartige Perspektiven und faszinierende Ausblicke auf die unberührte, hochalpine Winterlandschaft. Auf einer Länge von zwölf Kilometern von der Talstation bis TOP OF SALZBURG auf 3.029 m werden 2.261 Höhenmeter überwunden und zugleich vier Klimazonen durchquert. Ein Herzstück der K-ONNECTION bildet die 4,3 Kilometer lange 3K K-onnection. Diese weltweit modernste Seilbahnanlage verbindet die Bergstation der MK Maiskogelbahn (1.570 m) mit der Mittelstation Langwied (1.976 m) am Kitzsteinhorn.

Purer Wintersport-Genuss

Skifahren am Kitzsteinhorn ist ein besonderes Erlebnis: Es sind zum einen die Höhenlage, aber auch die unmittelbare Nähe zum Nationalpark Hohe Tauern, die einen Wintersporttag auf dem Kitzsteinhorn so einzigartig machen. Der Alltag scheint ewig weit weg, der Himmel ganz nah: Die schneebedeckten Gipfel und die faszinierende Naturlandschaft lassen ehrfürchtig innehalten. Wer einmal oben auf dem Kitzsteinhorn gestanden ist, weiß um das Hochgefühl, das einem beim Anblick der mächtigen Dreitausender erfasst. Bis in den Frühsommer frönt man in Salzburgs einzigem Gletscherskigebiet dem Wintersport in alle seinen Facetten. Die weiten Pisten, hochmoderne Bergbahnen, einladende Restaurants und absolute Schneesicherheit bieten eine enorme Vielfalt für Wintersportler.

Auf und abseits der Pisten: Das Kitzsteinhorn für Freerider und Skitourengeher

Das Kitzsteinhorn ist, dank seiner schneesicheren Höhenlage, für seine Tiefschneehänge berühmt. Freerider schätzen die fünf ausgeschilderten Routen, die "Freeride Info Base" und die "Info Points" am Einstieg der jeweiligen Hänge, die wichtige Tipps zur Sicherheit im Gelände geben. Workshops für Anfänger und Fortgeschrittene werden in Kooperation mit zwei Skischulen mit dem "Freeride Monday" angeboten. Für Skitourengeher gibt es am Kitzsteinhorn zwei markierte Aufstiegsrouten entlang der Piste ab Langwied: Bei der Variante "Schneekönigin" werden 474 Höhenmeter überwunden, Ziel ist das Alpincenter auf 2.450 Meter Seehöhe. Die Route "Eisbrecher" mit 899 Höhenmetern führt bis zur Bergstation des Maurerliftes auf 2.875 Meter. Geführte Skitouren gibt es jeden Donnerstag: Gemeinsam mit einem Guide geht es auf den 2.642 Meter hohen, unberührten Tristkogel.

Legendäre Snowparks für Einsteiger und Fortgeschrittene

Gleich mehrere bestens gepflegte Snowparks machen das Kitzsteinhorn und den Maiskogel zu einem unübertroffenen Hotspot der Freestyle-Fraktion: Sie gehören zu den besten weltweit und überzeugen mit einem abwechslungsreichen Angebot. Bereits im Oktober öffnet der "Glacier Park" mit einem ersten Angebot am Gletscherplateau seine Pforten. Im "Easy Park" warten ab Dezember die ersten Elemente auf alle Snowboarder und Freeskier. Ab Jänner bietet sich mit "Central Park" ein weiterer Spielplatz zum Austoben. Der "Maisi Park" überzeugt mit speziellem Fun-Bereich und einfach zu meisternden Spaßelementen - auch für die jüngsten Kids.

ICE CAMP - presented by Audi

Das ICE CAMP am Kitzsteinhorn bietet eine erstaunliche Kombination aus Kunstraum, ICE-Bar mit Sonnendeck und Autopräsentation auf über 2.600 Metern Höhe. Drei miteinander verbundene Iglus von jeweils zwölf Meter Durchmesser werden vom Kärntner Künstler Max Seiwald gestaltet. Rund 60 Tonnen Eis und 2.500 Kubikmeter Schnee finden in diesem Kunstwerk Verwendung. Bereits im Dezember starten die Bauarbeiten dieser einzigartigen Welt aus Schnee und Eis. Eröffnet wird das ICE CAMP Mitte Jänner. Es gilt als beliebter Treffpunkt für Wintersportler und Ausflugsgäste, der entspannte Atmosphäre, Musik und Kunst kongenial verbindet.

TOP OF SALZBURG/Gipfelwelt 3000 - Ausflugsziel direkt an der Grenze zum Nationalpark Hohe Tauern

In der Kitzsteinhorn Bergstation auf 3.029 Metern Seehöhe verspricht das Ausflugsziel TOP OF SALZBURG/Gipfelwelt 3000 traumhaft schöne Ausblicke auf den Nationalpark Hohe Tauern. Auch Nicht-Skifahrer kommen hier in den Genuss eines einzigartigen Besucherangebots mit zwei Panorama-Aussichtsplattformen, dem Cinema 3000 mit dem Film "Kitzsteinhorn - THE NATURE", der Nationalpark Gallery mit spannenden Info-Stationen und dem höchstgelegenen Restaurant Salzburgs. Auch Winterwandern und Langlaufen sind am Kitzsteinhorn möglich.

Ein Naturerlebnis der Extraklasse: Die Kitzsteinhorn Explorer Tour mit Nationalpark-Ranger

Durch die Seilbahnverbindung K-ONNECTION auf das Kitzsteinhorn können naturinteressierte Besucher auch eine spannende Erlebnistour vom Tal auf den Gletscher unternehmen. Die winterliche Exkursion wird jeden Dienstag und Sonntag ganz bequem und komfortabel per Seilbahn und in Begleitung eines erfahrenen Nationalpark Rangers zurückgelegt und bietet Familien spannende Einblicke in die Natur des Hochgebirges: So erfährt man unter anderem, wo die Adler nisten, welche Funktion Schutzwälder haben und wie Gletschereis entsteht. Teilnehmer nehmen die Adlerperspektive ein, schweben ganz bequem durch vier Klimazonen und überwinden dabei 2.261 Höhenmeter. Ein atemberaubendes Highlight bildet die Fahrt mit der 3K K-onnection. Zwei eigens designte Explorer-Kabinen sorgen für eine weitere Besonderheit. Durch ihre spezielle Innenausstattung ermöglichen sie einen unvergesslichen 360-Grad-Blick vom Zeller See bis zum Großglockner. Ziel ist TOP OF SALZBURG/Gipfelwelt 3000 auf 3.029 Meter Seehöhe.

Besondere Herausforderungen für Wintersportler

Zu einer echten Herausforderung des Skigebiets zählt die "Black Mamba"-Piste mit einer Neigung von bis zu 63 Prozent. Alle, die gerne Daten sammeln, können in bewährter Form die Skyline-Höhenmeter auslesen und ihr Können an der Skimovie-Strecke mit Riesentorlauf am Gletscher festhalten. Ergänzend zum Skyline-Speedcheck am Kitzsteinhorn gibt es einen weiteren am Maiskogel. Auch in diesem Winter wartet wieder der Kitzsteinhorn K-ONNECTION CUP mit fünf spannenden Skyline.cc-Disziplinen: Wer vier von fünf schafft, hat die Chance auf exklusive Gewinne.

MAISIFLITZER am Maiskogel

Ganzjahres-Rodelspaß am Alpine Coaster

Nervenkitzel durch und durch – Die erste Alpen-Achterbahn im Salzburger Land hat auch im Winter geöffnet.

Sicher auf Schienen geleitet, düst du in den grünen Zweisitzern mit bis zu 40 km/h bergab. Wellen, Jumps und spektakuläre Kreisel lassen das Adrenalin durch die Adern rauschen und Jubelschreie ertönen vom Maiskogel. Erwachsene und Kinder finden hier im Sommer wie im Winter ein beliebtes Ausflugsziel und aufregendes Abenteuer beim Rodeln am Alpine Coaster.

Facts:

  • Länge Auffahrt 730 m
  • Länge Abfahrt 1.300 m 
  • Brücken, 5 Jumps, 5 Schrägstützenkreisel und Wellen
  • Fahrzeit etwa 12 Minuten
  • Kinder von 3-7 Jahren fahren in Begleitung eines Erwachsenen

Der Rodelspaß für die ganze Familie das ganze Jahr bei jedem Wetter!

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies um Sie bei der Nutzung zu unterstützen. Durch die Nutzung dieser Webseite akzeptieren Sie die Verwendung von Cookies.